Rotating Image
Matadors on Youtube Matadors on Twitter Matadors on Facebook

Matador Athletics Success History

Cal State Northridge has demonstrated a continued commitment to athletic excellence has paid dividends in the form of national championship awards won by Matador squads at the NCAA Division II level. Although the Matadors jumped to the D-I level during the 1990-91 season, Northridge still ranks third at the D-II level with 30 NCAA national titles.

Since moving to Division I, the Matadors have already produced NCAA runner-up teams in men's volleyball (1993) and softball (1994), NCAA individual champions in track and field and cross country as well as the Matador women's volleyball team winning the National Invitational Volleyball Championship in 1994. The Men's basketball team won back-to-back conference titles in 2007-08 and 2008-09, participating in the 2009 NCAA Tournament.

Entering the 2010 season, the women's track and field team at CSUN has won four-straight Big West Outdoor Championships. The women's soccer team finished 6-2 in the 2009 Big West season, leading to the Matadors' first home playoff game in school history. Men's soccer has seen several players make a successful jump into the Major League Soccer ranks, highlighted by ex-Matador Sean Franklin winning MLS Rookie of the Year following the 2008 season.

In 2009, the women's water polo team won a piece of the inaugural Big West Conference Championship and the men's volleyball program has yielded one of the top teams in the nation, earning a No. 1 national ranking during the 2009 and 2010 seasons. On the links, Northridge golfer Nick Delio won the California Amateur Title in 2008 and the women's softball team made three NCAA Division I postseason Regional appearances in the 2000s.

The Matadors will field 20 teams in 2009-10 as they enter their ninth season as a full member of the Big West Conference. Seventeen teams will participate in the Big West, while three will compete in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF).

Coach of the Year

Coach of the Year

Men's Track & Field: 2004, 2005, 2007, 2009
Women's Track & Field: 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
Men's Soccer: 2002, 2004, 2005

Women's Golf: 2003, 2004

Men's Basketball: 2009

Women's Soccer: 2009

Coach of the Year

2003 Men's Volleyball Co-Coach of the Year